.: Program

Room: Seacliff AB

Session 1: Keynote  10:15 - 10:55
Chair: Anastasia Ailamaki (EPFL)

Looking Beyond Exaflops and Zettabytes
Pradeep Dubey (Intel Labs)

Session 2: OLTP Throughput Advances  10:55 - 12:00
Chair: Ippokratis Pandis (Amazon Web Services)

More Than A Network: Distributed OLTP on Clusters of Hardware Islands
Danica Porobic (EPFL), Pinar Tozun (IBM Research), Raja Appuswamy (EPFL), Anastasia Ailamaki (EPFL)

Larger-than-Memory Data Management on Modern Storage Hardware for In-Memory OLTP Database Systems
Lin Ma (Carnegie Mellon University), Joy Arulraj (Carnegie Mellon University), Zheguang Zhao (Brown University), Andrew Pavlo (Carnegie Mellon University), Subramanya Dulloor (Intel Labs), Michael Giardino (Georgia Institute of Technology), Jeff Parkhurst (Intel Labs), Jason Gardner (Intel Labs), Kshitij Doshi (Intel Labs), Stan Zdonik (Brown University)

OLTP on A Server-Grade ARM: Power, Throughput and Latency Comparison
Utku Sirin (EPFL), Raja Appuswamy (EPFL), Anastasia Ailamaki (EPFL)

Lunch Break - Lunch on your own

Session 3: Synchronization, Parallelization, and OSs  13:30 - 15:00
Chair: Wolfgang Lehner (TU Dresden)

The ART of Practical Synchronization
Viktor Leis (TUM), Florian Scheibner (TUM), Alfons Kemper (TUM), Thomas Neumann (TUM)

Multi-core column-store parallelization under concurrent workload
Mrunal Gawade (CWI), Martin Kersten (CWI), Alkis Simitis (Hewlett Packard Labs)

In Memory Processing of Massive Point Clouds for Multi-core Systems
Kostis Kyrizakos (CWI), Foteini Alvanaki (CWI), Martin Kersten (CWI)

Customized OS support for data processing
Jana Giceva (ETH Zurich), Gerd Zellweger (ETH Zurich), Gustavo Alonso (ETHZ), Timothy Roscoe (ETH Zurich)

Session 4: Off-CPU Processing, SIMD, and Persistent Memory   15:30 - 17:00
Chair: Alkis Simitsis (Hewlett Packard Labs)

SSD In-Storage Computing for List Intersection
Jianguo Wang (UC San Diego), Dongchul Park (Samsung Electronics Corp.), Yang-Suk Kee (Samsung Electronics Corp.), Yannis Papakonstantinou (UC San Diego), Steven Swanson (UC San Diego)

FPGA-Accelerated Group-by Aggregation Using Synchronizing Caches
Ildar Absalyamov (UC Riverside), Prerna Budhkar (UC Riverside), Skyler Windh (UC Riverside), Robert J. Halstead (UC Riverside), Walid A. Najjar (UC Riverside), Vassilis Tsotras (UC Riverside)

On testing persistent-memory-based software
Ismail Oukid (TU Dresden), Daniel Booss (SAP SE), Adrien Lespinasse (Grenoble INP - Ensimag), Wolfgang Lehner (TU Dresden)

SIMD-Accelerated Regular Expression Matching
Evangelia Sitaridi (Columbia University), Orestis Polychroniou (Columbia University), Kenneth Ross (Columbia University)